Day: 30/05/2012

Garlic bread

Posted on Updated on

The last recipe for this month. Let me present you: the uber delicious garlic bread. This easy to make recipe is pretty much my favourite on my list of effortless food. Not only it’s easy to make but you’ll get loads of compliments for it. And do I even have to mention that these slices are indispensable with pasta? 🙂 Usually, I use 1 or 2 garlic cloves because I don’t like the overwhelming taste of it, but you can add more or less to your taste.

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf of bread (Ciabatta, baguette or Turkish)
  • 1 or 2 garlic cloves
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil or 2 tablespoons butter (I combine the two)
  • basil and oregano (or parsley)
  • salt and pepper
  • tomato (optional)
  • Mozarella cheese (optional)
  • chili flakes (optional)

Cut the bread into slices. Mince the garlic in a saucepan and place on the stove. Add the oil and butter. Then, add the herbs and a pinch of salt and pepper. Stir till the butter is melted, wait 2 or 3 minutes and remove from the stove. Spread the mixture over the slices or dip the slices in the mixture. You can garnish them with chopped tomatoes or mozarella cheese (or any other cheese). Place the slices in the oven and bake them till they turn golden brown (for about 15 minutes).

Bon appétit!