Day: 08/10/2012

Poğaça

Posted on Updated on

I know that my promise of a new recipe every 10 days have passed but I had to take several weeks off because of other urgent things I had to do (sounds very mysterious but it’s not believe me :D) Now that everything (well, almost everything) is over, I’ll have more time to keep my blog updated I PROMISE 🙂  To show my good will here is the last recipe out of the 3, which is called Poğaça (pronounced poha-cha). Poğaça is a traditional pastry eaten in Turkey, especially during breakfast.  The traditional ones are prepared with feta cheese and parsley or just plain and you can find these anywhere. There are other types of Pogaça in Turkey (stuffed with meat or vegetables, sweet ones etc.) but this one is the most simple one. Traditionally, these buns are prepared with fresh yeast, for a better texture, but I had no fresh yeast or feta cheese so I kept it simple 🙂

P1050256P1050268

Ingredients (for about 15 pieces):
  • half cup milk or yoghurt
  • 3 tablespoons butter and 3 tablespoons oil (or half cup of oil, sunflower preferred)
  • 1, 5 cup of flour
  • 1 sachet baking powder (or dried yeast)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
Separate the egg yolk from the white in a small bowl. Mix in a large bowl all the other ingredients. Knead for about 10 minutes to get a soft non-sticky dough (the sticky dough becomes non-sticky so don’t worry).  Cover the dough and let it rest in the fridge for 1 hour. Take out the dough and divide it into small balls. Flatten the balls a bit, brush the top with egg yolk and sprinkle some nigella and/or sesame seeds on it. Place the poğaças on a tray covered with baking sheet and bake them in a preheated oven at 175C till they are brown.
Great with Turkish tea 😉
Afiyet olsun!